HLL Denounces Meeting of Illegitimate and illegally Appointed Prime Minister Latortue with UN's Kofi Annan and Some Members of the Congressional Black Caucus
(Contact Information follows below)

**Immediate Action Request**
May 12, 2004

The Haitian Lawyer's Leadership denounces the illegitimate and illegally appointed Gerald Latortue on his first "official" visit to the United States
For further details, see Congresswoman Maxine Waters and Congresswoman Barbara Lee's press releases denouncing Gerald Latortue's visit to Capital Hill. http://www.haitiaction.org/News/CBC4_5_4.html

HLL restates its appreciation and reaffirms its support for CARICOM's non-recognition of Haitian Interim Prime Minister Gerard Latortue's Government

HLL denounces the visit to the U.S. and herely declares that all those responsible for arranging said "official" visit by the illegally appointed Latortue as exhibiting little sensitivity and no knowledge of the Haitian people's long and arduous struggle against rule by force and dictatorship and for democracy and development. In this context, HLL also denounces the little publicized meeting on Monday, May 10, 2004, between the illegitimate and illegal Prime Minister Gerald Latortue and UN's Kofi Annan.

Please contact Kofi Annan at the U.N. to protest his meeting with the illegitimate Gerald Latortue in New York on Monday, May 10, 2004, as well as continue to call up the five members from the 39-member Congressional Black Caucus, who met with Latortue last week.

According to recent media reports the following members of the Black Congressional Caucus as well as Senator Harkin met with Latortue, the U.S. imposed puppet in Haiti. The Haitian National Palace is currently occupied by U.S. military. Voice your concerns about this travesty, this deliberate beheading of Haitian democracy when U.S. lives are being lost in Iraq , supposedly because we, the American people, stand against fascism and Saddam's former dictatorship rule.

How do the following representatives square supporting democracy in Iraq and rule by force in Haiti? Contact them and let them know your displeasure at their meeting with the illegitimate Gerald Latortue:

Eddie Bernice Johnson [D-Texas],
Gregory Meeks [D-N.Y.],
Sen. [Tom] Harkin [D-Iowa],
Carolyn Kilpatrick [D-Mich.] and
Elijah Cummings [D-Maryland] .

These members of Congress and the Senator seem also willing to accept the U.S. installed government and brush aside demands for an investigation. To contact them to share your concerns about human rights abuses in the period after the February 29, 2004 coup d'etat and the illegality of the "interim" Haitian government, you can use the info below.

Eddie Bernice Johnson [D-Texas]:

Washington, D.C
1511 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: (202) 225-8885
Fax: (202) 226-1477

District Offices
Dallas Office:
Cedar Springs Plaza
2501 Cedar Springs Road
Suite 550
Dallas, TX 75201
Phone: (214) 922-8885

Irving Office:
1634 B West Irving Blvd.
Irving, TX 75061
Phone: (972) 253-8885

Kendrick Meek [D-Fla.]:

Washington, DC
1039 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Phone: 202-225-4506
Fax: 202-226-0777

Miami-Dade County
111 N.W. 183rd Street
Suite 315
Miami Gardens, FL 33169
Phone: 305-690-5905
Fax: 305-690-5951

Broward County
10100 Pines Boulevard
Third Floor, Building B
Pembroke Pines, FL 33026
Phone: 954-450-6767
Fax: 954-450-6768

Gregory Meeks [D-N.Y.]:

Washington Office
1710 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515

St. Albans District Office
196-06 Linden Boulevard
St. Albans, NY 11412

Far Rockaway Office
1931 Mott Avenue, Room 305
Far Rockaway, NY 11691

Richmond Hill Office
› 106-11 Liberty Avenue - 2nd Floor
Richmond Hill, NY 11417

Carolyn Kilpatrick [D-Mich.]:

1610 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20515-2215
(202) 225-2261
Fax: (202) 225-5730
Office Hours: Monday-Friday (9:00-5:00pm)

1274 Library, Suite 1-B
Detroit, MI 48226
(313) 965-9004 or (313) 965-9005
Fax: (313) 965-9006
Office Hours: Monday-Friday (9:00-5:00pm)

Downriver Wyandotte Office
3005 Biddle Street, Room A
Wyandotte, Michigan 48192
Tel: 734.246.0780
Fax: 734.246.1148

Sen. [Tom] Harkin [D-Iowa]:

731 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
(202) 224-3254 Phone
(202) 224-9369 Fax
(202) 224-4633 TDD


Iowa offices:
210 Walnut Street
Room 733, Federal Building
Des Moines, IA 50309
(515) 284-4574 Phone
(515) 284-4937 Fax

1606 Brady Street
Suite 323
Davenport, IA 52803
(563) 322-1338 Phone
(563) 322-0417 Fax

150 First Avenue, NE
Suite 370
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
(319) 365-4504 Phone
(319) 365-4683 Fax

350 W. 6th Street
315 Federal Building
Dubuque, IA 52001
(563) 582-2130 Phone
(563) 582-2342 Fax

320 6th Street
110 Federal Building
Sioux City, IA 51101
(712) 252-1550 Phone
(712) 252-1638 Fax

Elijah Cummings

Washington D.C.
1632 Longworth H.O.B.
Washington, D.C. 20515
Phone: (202) 225-4741
Fax: (202) 225-3178

Baltimore City
1010 Park Avenue
Suite 105
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: (410) 685-9199›
Fax: (410) 685-9399›

Baltimore County
754 Frederick Road›
Catonsville, MD 21228›
Phone: (410) 719-8777›
Fax: (410) 455-0110

Also lodge your protest against the mass slaughter of Haitians and the hooding in black plastic bags and manacling of Haitian children on May 10, 2004 by the U.S. Military in Haiti by contacting:

Ambassador James Foley directly at the U.S. Embassy in Port-au-Prince. Call on Secretary of State Colin Powell at the U.S. State Department in Washington, and contact your Senators and Representatives.

Call early and call often. Ensure all letters you send out are also copied to Amy Goodman of Democracy Now, the Caribbean media, BBC, Wolf Blitzer, Paula Zhan, Dan Rather of CBS, Ed Bradley of 60 Minutes, Bob Herbert of the NYTimes, Brian Lamb of C-Span, and so on.
(Contact information for these media people shall soon be listed on this website.)


Ambassador James B. Foley
U.S. Embassy, Port-au-Prince, Haiti
phone: 509.223.7011 or 509.222.0200
fax: 509.223.9665
email: acspap@state.gov

http://usembassy.state.gov (for address and additional phones)

Colin Powell, U.S. Secretary of State
fax: 202.647.2283 or 202.647.5169
phone: 202.647.5291 or 202.647.7098
email via: http://contact-us.state.gov/ask_form_cat/ask_form_secretary.html

Haiti Desk Officers, U.S. State Department:

Joseph Tilghman
fax: 202.647.2901
phone: 202.647.5088
email: tilghmanjf@state.gov

Lawrence Connell
fax: 202.647.2901
phone: 202.647.6765
email: ConnellLF@state.gov

Marguerite Laurent, JD,

Haitian Lawyers Leadership Network
(dedicated to protecting the civil, human and cultural rights of Haitians at home and abroad)
May 12, 2004

Ezilidanto | Writings | Performances | Bio | Workshops | Contact Us | Guests | Law | Merchandise
© 2003 Marguerite Laurent